Garden Update Anyone?

It is now fall.

And it has officially been 2 months since I last posted on the garden.  In that time the only real thing I was not able to capture for you were the beautiful purple blossoms that sweet potatoes create!  Procrastination got the best of me.

But as far as looks are concerned, the garden was at its peak in early August.

Following my last post the lushness started to die down, some diseases set in, and the produce-rather than the big beautiful plants-became the energy absorbers.

We harvested plenty  — more cucumbers than we can count, one very ripe watermelon …

4 beautiful butternut squash …

Tomatoes, peppers, basil, etc etc…

I no longer check on the garden every day. It would have probably benefited from more rain/watering this later part of the summer. But I occasionally venture out for some herbs, tomatoes, or a random check.  Tonight I brought my camera along.

And this is what it looks like.

(That just made me laugh!  It is not nearly the sight it was in August!)

Tonight I went out to harvest sunflower seeds.

I thought it was time once I started seeing these on the ground…

And let’s just cut to the exciting stuff … those sweet potatoes.

Most of the plant currently looks like this…

Dead.

I have been holding my breath with these plants.  It was our largest gamble since we planted them late (very end of June) and they need 90 days of nice warm soil to grow.

Since I was taking pictures for my last garden update, and because it has now been 90 days, I figured I would take a peak.

I chose the weakest plant with easy access, pulled up the tarp and started to dig.

I first dug down and around and didn’t see a thing.  I was careful to sift through the dirt looking for the tiniest inkling of a potato.

When I saw this red root I got excited thinking it maybe indicated “life”.  However, as I was careful to follow it’s path and dig I came upon nothing.  Eventually, it broke on both ends.

I was about to give up when I took one, or maybe two, more swipes inward …

And I couldn’t BELIEVE my eyes!

There it was, right in front of me, red!

I did some careful dissecting and saw this…

One decent size small potato and a few itty-bitties..

And then I covered them back up.

I’m not sure when we will actually harvest them, but I figured a few extra days of growth (figuring we are without frost) wouldn’t hurt.

And for everything else in the garden, I think I will do a photo collage.  You can fill in the story or guess at the captions yourself.  (click on the photo for a larger image)

I’m not sure where we will be next year — whether I will be able to garden here or not.  Regardless, I have enjoyed every moment of our garden this summer and I look forward to the day when I can do it again.

Digging everything up again this fall …?  I’m not sure how I feel about that.

But here is a final thought for you — somewhere out there is an owl, and I enjoy him!

Be blessed!

1 Comment

Filed under gardening

One response to “Garden Update Anyone?

  1. Mae

    Beautiful! I have to say that our butternut squash trellis makes me laugh-it served it’s purpose and then gracefully bowed out!

Leave a Reply

